Michael Quirante: Tenacious and Resourceful Branch Manager of McDonalds-Hidalgo (Quiapo)

Michael Quirante: Tenacious and Resourceful

Branch Manager of McDonalds-Hidalgo (Quiapo)

by Apolinario Villalobos

Lately, MacDonalds has been hugging the limelight because of the incidents on food poisoning. This seems unlikely as the food chain is known for being finicky as regards their products and service. I had the chance to test the trademark for which it has been known one morning when I dropped by their Hidalgo Branch in Quiapo for breakfast.

As usual I ordered the pancakes but the Cashier, Love Castaῆares smilingly suggested their new product, launched just that morning, the cheesy egg pandesal. I gave in to her insistence, but I was disappointed as it came in the size which was not my type, so I rejected it. At this instance, the Branch Manager, Michael Quirante volunteered that I still try the pandesal if only to check its taste. I declined, and perhaps in an effort to prevent me from getting irritated, it was promptly changed with the pancakes.

While I was enjoying my pancakes, I saw Mr. Quirante slicing the sandwich into bite sizes, and offered them to the few customers at the time, as it was still early. He had such kind of persuading approach that no customer ever declined his offer, and all of them practically gave their thumb up, to confirm that their new product tasted really good. In just a couple of minutes all bite-sized pandesal slices were gone, and Mr. Quirante was smiling from ear to ear.

What touched me that morning was the persistence of Mr. Quirante in introducing a new product of the company, by personally, offering it to the customers. He was not downhearted with my rejection. Also, I supposed that such gesture was not really part of his routine, but rather his own kind of personal gimmickry that put his resourcefulness to the fore.

My interest in the attitude of Mr. Quirante made me talk to him for a few minutes before I left. I asked him if he was aware of the latest impression on their company due to the issue on food poisoning, to which he answered in the positive, that is why, he told me that they are trying their best to maintain their image. Just then, a service crew came in and greeted him. He told me that the guy was a Muslim. I was surprised because I thought only Christians were being hired by their company. At that, I was told that they want to be fair to all those who seek opportunity to help them with their studies, that is why their outlet has hired four Muslim staff. I was not surprised by what he told me as McDonalds is known for its penchant in helping working students. In fact, Mr. Quirante told me that he went through the same stage, as he was himself, a working student when he worked initially with the company.

Quiapo is one area in Manila, a historic one, yet, which is being shared by the Catholics and Muslims who live side by side harmoniously. MacDonalds contributes to this harmonious co-existence by hiring service crew members from the area, regardless of their religious affinity. Mr. Quirante’s attitude on the other hand, has enhanced the effort of the company in his own way, by doing his best as part of the company – being nice to the clients and his co-employees. He told me that his rising from the lowest position, that of a service crew, until he became manager, gave him the opportunity to understand the entire nature of his job.

While it is true that employees of service-oriented companies are mandated to smile their best to attract customers, the difference lies in the “sincerity” in how it is done. Being an employee myself that handled customer needs, I know if smiling is candidly done or words that are muttered are meant to help or appease irritated clients or not. Mr. Quirante did more than all those…he made use of his resourcefulness to help his company to show that the golden arc does not only symbolize excellent service, but superb products, as well.

Intrepid Me….a tribute to travel bloggers

Intrepid Me

(Tribute to tireless travel bloggers)

by Apolinario B Villalobos

At the crack of dawn

While the rest of humanity

Are still curled up in their bed

I’m already up, eager, excited;

I hit the road, buoyed with lightness –

Letting my feet just carry me on

As I unwind my pent up energy

That gives me a feeling of ecstasy.

With cell phone, notebook and pen

Camera, batteries, biscuits, candies

Towel, extra shirt, coins and bills –

All backpacked, I trek over hills;

A shot here and there, mesmerized –

A stop here and there, hypnotized –

Only aahs and oohs, I say nothing more

As the searing sun, I patiently endure.

The world is my home, it’s where I belong

I let no oceans and seas hinder me, there are ships

I let no great distance distress me, there are airplanes

I let no meager funds discourage me, I can scrimp

I let no insufficient language daunt me, I can make signs

I let no difference in culture deter me, I can learn

I let no difference in climate frighten me, I can adapt

This is me, intrepid me, my desire to explore is my map!

Pampitik lang ang Torre de Manila…marami pang dapat punahin at alalahanin sa Maynila

Pampitik lang ang Torre de Manila

…marami pang dapat punahin at alalahanin sa Maynila

Ni Apolinario Villalobos

Ang isyu ng Torre de Manila ay isang ehemplo ng kawalang pakialam ng mga taong hindi gumagawa ng mga responsibilidad nila. Ipinapakita nila ang ugaling “reactive” o pag-aksyon lamang kung may nangyari nang pinsala, sa halip na umaksyon habang maaga pa upang maiwasan ang mga problema, na kung tawagin naman ay “preventive”.

Ang National Historical Institute ay ilang metro lang ang layo mula sa ginagawang Torre de Manila. Nasa tabi lamang ito ng National Library of the Philippines. Ang National Commission on Culture and the Arts ay nasa Intramuros lang na hindi kalayuan mula dito. Ang Manila City Hall ay ganoon din. Bulag ba ang mga taong inaasahan umaksiyon noon pa mang umabot na sa kwestiyonableng taas ang gusali kaya hindi pa man tapos ay nakita na ang epekto nito sa rebulto ni Rizal, kaya tinawag na “photo bummer”? Bingi ba sila upang hindi marinig ang mga nag-iingay nang mga taong nababahala? Hindi ba sila marunong magbasa upang hindi maintindihan ang mga balita sa mga diyaryo ang tungkol dito? Kung sasabihin nilang nakagapos ang mga kamay nila dahil sa mahihinang batas na nagpo-protekta sa mga bantayog o shrines, bakit hindi sila nagpanukala ng mga ito noon pa man?

Ngayon ay nagtuturuan sila kung sino ang may kasalanan. Napag-alaman din na miyembro pala ng Knights of Rizal ang mga “matitinik” na taga-Maynila tulad ng dating mayor na si Alfredo Lim at mismong nakaupong mayor na si Erap Estrada. Marami ang nagtataka kung bakit wala silang kibo. Ngayon pa lang ay may mga lumulutang na kuwento tungkol sa pagkasangkot ng ilang kagawad ng konseho ng Maynila, at kung sa anong bagay ay hindi na kailangang sabihin pa.

Dahil sa isyu ng Torre de Manila, naungkat tuloy ang mga kwestiyon din sa pagpa-privatize ng mga palengke, na siyempre ay bentahan ng mga public facilities na ito sa mga pribadong grupo. Bakit kailangang i-privatize ganoong pinagkikitaan din naman ng local government, at nasisiguro pa ang kapakanan ng mga nagtitinda dahil napapanatili ang upang kaya nila, kaya wala silang dahilan upang magtaas ng mga presyo? Kung ang maayos na pagmintina ang hinahabol, hindi ba ito kayang gawin ng City Hall?

Noon, nagkaroon ng pagtatangka ang Manila City Halol na ilabas sa Maynila ang Manila Zoo at gawing basketball stadium ang mababakante nitong espasyo. Mabuti na lang at naagapang hindi matuloy dahil marami ang nagreklamo. Hindi malayong ang tangka ay mauulit dahil nagkakaroon na ng lakas ng loob ang mga taong nagpupursige nito. Marami na kasi ang mga naipalusot na iba pang proyekto na kung tawagin sa Ingles ay “precedent”.

Ang hindi ginagawa ng gobyernong lokal sa tulong ng MMDA ay ang paglinis ng mga maliliit na ilog at estero na ngayon ay namumuwalan ng basura at water lily. Hihintayin na naman nilang magkabahaan bago magkumahog sa pagkilos. At, kasunod ng pagkukumahog ay, tulad ng inaasahan pa rin…ang pagturuan at pagsisi na naman sa mga kawawang residente na burara daw kaya kung saan saan lang nagtatapon ng basura, ganoong hindi naman hinahakot ang basurang maayos nilang tinatapos sa mga nakatalagang lugar.