Saluag Island (Sikulan): Tawi-tawi, PH

No Juan Is An Island

My most recent trip made me channel the maritime explorer in me and set out to navigate the farthest reaches of the Philippine archipelago. Last year, I was fortunate to have set foot on the Philippines northernmost island province, Batanes. This year, I was able to explore the far-flung islands of Tawi-tawi. With untainted beaches, amazing culture, and more – Tawi-tawi’s 100 + islands is indeed a fascinating destination with endless surprises for the brave traveller.

000IMG_20150814_085917

Scattered across the Sulu and Celebes seas like emerald gems, this tiny archipelagic province at the southernmost tip of the Philippines has been tainted with not-so-good reputation over the years together with its neighboring provinces (Sulu, Basilan and the entire Zamboanga Peninsula) due to unfortunate Moro raids, and some outbreak of attacks by extortionists. I myself was quite apprehensive of the thought of visiting it. Nonetheless, the wanderlust in me was more than decisive…

View original post 568 more words

Leave a Reply

