The Thin Blue Line – Matters

Solsbury Hill

thinblueline (3)

These are trying times.  While I strive to avoid serious political/social commentary, I’m compelled to alter my regime, this one time.

The excerpt below on the ‘Sheepdog’ is not new.  Attributed to Dave Grossman’s book ‘On Combat’, several versions and renditions have appeared since its inception.  For those not familiar with him, Grossman is an internationally recognized speaker, a retired Lieutenant Colonel with the U.S. army, former West Point psychology professor, Professor of Military Science, and Army Ranger.  The ‘Sheepdog’ analogy came from a retired Vietnam vet Grossman interviewed, and I understand made it into the 2014 film ‘American Sniper’, a movie I’ve not seen.  Years ago I had the pleasure of seeing Lt. Cl. Grossman speak in person, his book ‘Killology’ just released, and the presentation left a lasting impact on me.  Grossman’s words are as powerful today, perhaps even more so, as they were when I first heard them.

View original post 485 more words

One thought on “The Thin Blue Line – Matters

Leave a Reply

