TREK Aurora (Casiguran & Dilasag)

No Juan Is An Island

Okay, so today is throwback Thursday. So I decided to re-blog/re-post a write-up I have made some 8 years ago. This is about the concept of “voluntourism”. Voluntourism is a form of tourism in which travellers participate in voluntary work, usually for a charity. At its very core, voluntourism is the desire to help others.

080411.aid4aurora.poster.72dpi

After graduating in college, a few of my colleagues introduced me to the mountaineering sport. After my 1st climb (Mount Pulag in 2004), the desire to climb more mountains just grew eventually becoming a hobby. Along the way, I have met lots of new people. Some of my earliest and fondest memories were with a group of mountaineers called SABIT. It is through this group that I got the opportunity to first set foot in Aurora Province AND do some “voluntourism” work.

Read along:

May 2008. TREK or Trails to Empower Kids (as I…

View original post 953 more words

Leave a Reply

